After spending six weeks in Asia, and the last two doing not very much, I decided it was about time I got back in the kitchen.

At the moment I’m living at home (as I try to desperately find somewhere to live in Aberdeen before starting work next week) which means I have access to far more ingredients than I’d have in my kitchen.

The majority of things I bake include chocolate (obviously) but after my Dad’s chocolate birthday cake and chocolate brownies I felt a change was required.

I found a recipe similar to this one on Sally’s Baking Addiction but I have a problem with following recipes so sort of made it up myself.

Although there are three layers they’re very easy and quick to make. I think the middle layer took all of about three minutes and the other two layers are the same.

You could also make them orange flavoured or lime if you fancied.

Oaty Lemon Creme Bars

  • Makes: 12 bars
  • Cook time:1 hour

Ingredients:

  • 110g butter
  • 110g light brown sugar
  • 110g oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 190g plain flour
  • 100ml milk
  • 200g condensed milk (half a can)
  • four tbsp of lemon juice (I actually used 3tbsp of lemon and 1tbsp of orange juice)
  • 100g cream cheese

Method:

  1. Preheat the over to 180°C/350°F/gas mark 4 and grease and line an 8x8inch baking tray.
  2. Beat together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. I did this in an electric mixer but if I was in my own kitchen I would have done it by hand.
  3. Add the oats, baking powder, plain flour and milk and beat until incorporated.
  4. Spread a little more than half the mixture into the tin and bake in the oven for 15minutes.
  5. While the base is cooking whisk the condensed milk, lemon juice and cream cheese together in a bowl until smooth.
  6. Once the base has cooked pour the condensed milk mixture over it and the the remainder of the oat mixture. The oat mixture is a little hard to spread evenly so I just placed small spoonfuls all over the condensed milk mixture which then spread as it cooked.
  7. Place the bars back in the oven for another 25minutes or until golden brown.
  8. Cool before removing from the tin and slicing.
